Just up the road from our RV park is a dirt trail heading west (14 miles) to the hamlet of Cherry.
Cherry was settled in the late 1800’s as a mining community with the post office opening in 1884 and the first Grammar School opening in 1898. By 1929, the area boasted over 400 residents.
In 1982 the last gold mine closed and today there are still about 75 full-time residents and a dozen or so part timers.
The “town” isn’t much to look at, having never been incorporated and never having a church, there are no commercial businesses left, but the homes along the hillsides are nestled into the trees and look very comfortable.
It’s a long (dirt) road but when we traveled it was graded smooth although a lot of switchbacks and “close to the edge” turns with NO guardrails. We drove slow hoping we’d not meet an oncoming truck (and we were lucky).
The video below gives you a good idea of the view from atop one of the hills on the way to the top.